Kaplan Reelected Lauderhill Mayor

KaplanLauderhill Mayor Richard Kaplan has been reelected to a fifth four year term today. Despite the fact that three challengers filed to run against Commissioner Hayward Benson, no one qualified for Mayor against Kaplan. Kaplan was first elected Mayor in 1998 after serving ten years as a City Councilman and Commissioner.
But don’t assume that he will be Mayor for the next four years. Kaplan has had eye on higher office in the past. Just two years ago he began a campaign to run for County Commissioner. Kaplan withdrew, and Marty Kair was elected to the position. Kair is up for reelection in two years, but there are rumors that he may run for Broward County Property Appraiser. That would open up Kair’s County Commission seat for a run by Kaplan.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s